## ADVANCES IN POST AND PREPROCESSING FOR FINITE ELEMENT TECHNOLOGY

# ADVANCES IN POST AND PREPROCESSING FOR FINITE ELEMENT TECHNOLOGY

Edited by M. Papadrakakis and B.H.V. Topping



**CIVIL-COMP PRESS** 

### **CIVIL-COMP PRESS** 10 Saxe-Coburg Place Edinburgh, EH3 5BR, UK

© 1994, Civil-Comp Limited

#### **British Library Cataloguing in Publication Data**

A catalogue record for this book is available from the British Library

ISBN 0-948749-23-7

Printed in the Scottish Borders by MEIGLE PRINTERS LIMITED Galashiels, Scotland

#### **\*CONTENTS\***

#### **1 REVIEW OF ERROR ANALYSIS AND ADAPTIVITY IN FINITE ELEMENT COMPUTATIONS**

#### 2 ERROR ANALYSIS AND ADAPTIVITY

- 2.7 A PRACTICAL ADAPTIVE MESHING STRATEGY FOR NONLINEAR ANALYSIS, I. Nitsopoulos, T.B. Wertheimer and H. Menderes, MARC Software Deutschland GmbH, Aschheim, Germany ......103

#### **3 STRESS RECOVERY PROCEDURES**

#### **4 MESH GENERATION**

#### **5 RENUMBERING SCHEMES**

#### **\*PREFACE**\*

This volume contains some of the papers presented at The Second International Conference on Computational Structures Technology which was held in Athens from the 30th August to 1st September 1994. Other papers from the conference are published in:

- Advances in Parallel and Vector Processing for Structural Mechanics, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-22-9
- Advances in Finite Element Techniques, Civil Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-24-5
- Advances in Simulation and Interaction Techniques, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-25-3
- Advances in Non-Linear Finite Element Methods, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-26-1
- Advances in Structural Optimization, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-27-X
- Advances in Computational Mechanics, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-28-8
- Artificial Intelligence and Object Oriented Approaches to Structural Engineering, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-29-6
- Computational Structural Engineering for Practice, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-30-X
- Advances in Structural Engineering Computing, Civil-Comp Press, 1994, ISBN 0-948-749-31-8

We should like to thank all the authors for their contribution and in particular those who personally presented their papers in Athens. We should also like to thank the members of the Conference Editorial Board and the National Greek Advisory Board.

The members of the CST94 National Greek Advisory Board were: Professor DE Beskos, Patras; Professor J Katsikadelis, Athens; Professor A Kounadis, Athens; Professor A Liolios, Thrace; Professor P Panagiotopoulos, Thessaloniki; Professor G Tsamasphyros, Athens; and Professor J Vardoulakis, Athens.

The members of the CST94 Conference Editorial Board were: Professor A Armenakas, USA; Professor KJ Bathe, USA; Professor P Beckers, Belgium; Professor M Bendsoe, Denmark; Professor PG Bergan, Norway; Dr L Berke, USA; Professor M Bernadou, France; Dr JF Besseling, The Netherlands; Professor RI Borja, USA; Dr S Bostic, USA; Dr John W Bull, UK; Professor Cheng Gengdong, China; Professor Chang-Koon Choi, South Korea; Professor C Cinquini, Italy; Dr L Demkowicz, Poland; Dr PRB Devloo, Brazil; Professor I St Doltsinis, Germany; Professor J Donea, Italy; Professor I S Duff, UK and France; Dr A Eriksson, Sweden; Professor C Farhat, USA; Professor JE Flaherty, USA; Professor C Fleury, Belgium; Professor D Frangopol, USA; Professor RH Gallagher, USA; Professor G Gambolati, Italy; Professor L Gaul, Germany; Professor M Geradin, Belgium; Professor DE Grierson, Canada; Professor KK Gupta, USA; Professor P Hajela, USA; Professor E Hinton, UK; Professor M Hogge, Belgium; Dr PK Jimack, UK; Professor J Jirousek, Switzerland; Professor BL Karihaloo, Australia; Dr AI Khan, UK; Professor N Kikuchi, USA; Professor U Kirsch, Israel; Professor Dr M Kleiber, Poland; Professor S Kobayashi, Japan; Professor W B Kratzig, Germany; Professor YA Kuznetsov, Russia; Professor P Ladeveze, France; Professor K L Lawrence, USA; Dr SH Lee, USA; Professor P Leger, Canada; Professor AYT Leung, Hong Kong; Professor WK Liu, USA; Dr R K Livesley, UK; J Mackerle, Sweden; Professor G Maier, Italy; Dr J Malone, USA; Professor J Mandel, USA; Professor IM May, UK; Dr JJ McKeown, UK; Professor J L Meek, Australia; Dr DT Nguyen, USA; Professor A K Noor, USA; Dr B Nour-Omid, USA; Dr R Ohayon, France; Professor DRJ Owen, UK; Professor PY Papalambros, USA; Dr F Papp, Hungary; Professor KC Park, USA; Professor D Parsons, USA; Professor MS Pereira, Portugal; Professor J Periaux, France; Dr KG Prasad, USA; Professor E Ramm, Germany; Professor JN Reddy, USA; Dr LM Ribeiro, Portugal; Professor JR Rice, USA; Professor E Riks, The Netherlands; Professor G De Roeck, Belgium; Professor G Rozvany, Germany; Professor A Samartin, Spain; Professor B Schrefler, Italy; Professor K Schweizerhof, Germany; Professor MS Shephard, USA; Professor Naruhito Shiraishi, Japan; Dr HD Simon, USA; Professor P Spanos, USA; Professor Dr Ing H Stein, Germany; Dr O Storaasli, USA; Professor KS Surana, USA; Professor P le Tallec, France; Professor G Thierauf, Germany; Dr G Vanderplaats, USA; Dr VB Venkayya, USA; Professor K S Virdi, UK; Dr M Walker, France and USA; Professor N-E Wiberg, Sweden; Dr JF Williams, Australia; Professor EL Wilson, USA; Professor W Wunderlich, Germany; Professor Y ong Bin Yang, Taiwan; and Dr T Zimmermann, Switzerland,

This conference would not have been possible without the assistance of many people and their organisation. In particular, we should like to thank the sponsors: The Greek Association for Computational Mechanics (GRACM); The Greek Ministry of Culture; The General Secretariat of Research and Technology of Greece; The Tourist Organisation of Greece; The National Technical University of Athens; The University of Patras; The Democritus University of Thrace; The Evgenidis Foundation; and UNISYS Hellas.

The assistance of: the members of the Structural Engineering Computational Technology Research Group at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh; and the staff of the Institute of Structural Analysis and Aseismic Research, National Technical University of Athens is gratefully acknowledged. In particular, we wish to thank Dr Asad I Khan for his help during the early stages of the preparation of this conference.

We should particularly like to thank Professor Dimitri Beskos, President of the GRACM, for all the help he has given us during the planning and organisation of the conference.

We also wish to thank all at Civil-Comp Press for their help and perserverance in the realisation of this conference in particular: Maisie Sales and Szandra Köves. Finally we should both like to thank our research assistants in Edinburgh and Athens for their help and assistance during the editing and preparation of these conference proceedings. Without their help during the months leading up to this conference life would have been considerably more difficult and duller. In particular we should mention János Sziveri, Biao Cheng, Péter Iványi, Yannis Tsompanakis, Prodromos Psaropoulos and Nick Lagaros.

Manolis Papadrakakis and Barry Topping July 1994